Sunday Mornings – Mornings – Instant Happy Pills

by dramalessdramaqueen

It’s a sunny Sunday!!!

I feel great because I feel blessed.

But yesterday, oh yeah, yesterday was the total opposite.

I was so mad at my best friend and she was asking me what she did wrong which fueled my anger all the more so I decided not to talk to her for the meantime.

Enough about that first, I’d rather talk about how wonderful this Sunday morning was.

I slept last night but I set the alarm so I would be able to wake up for a morning jog since I’ve been munching non-stop on just about every food I can get my hands on! Hahaha! What a pig, right?! Hahahaha! Anyway, I woke up on time and had a really nice jog. I wasn’t able to see anyone familiar though. After the jog, I went home expecting to be welcomed by mother and father having coffee and being happy that I tried to actually be concerned with my health by exercising but no, they weren’t there. Right then and there, I realized that I half  consciously do the things I do just to make my parents happy and the other half would be, of course, for my own sake. (Just about the most common thing a middle child would do.)

So, instead of seeing them both, I only saw my mother just waking up, asking me what I wanted for breakfast. I told her I wanted fruits, specifically Watermelons! Oh my gosh, how I was about to drool while just saying that and good thing mother agreed ’cause she was going to buy newspapers anyway. 

While we were entering the market, we were easily distracted by the Ukay-Ukay! I, being a fan of ukay, quickly got hooked and scanned through all the clothes, good thing mother was also quick to tell me to go back later after buying the fruits. The area where the fruits were placed wasn’t very far, just a short walk but while we were walking, memories began to flood my mind. When I was younger, for most Saturdays, I would wake up around 5 in the morning to go with my father to the wet market. I don’t consider myself a daddy’s girl because I’m pretty close with my mother as well but I just felt that my father would be happier if I went with him. I also felt that he was proud whenever I could wake up early and go with him. I’ve always loved mornings and I think doing these things might have deepen my appreciation for them. I can’t decipher what about mornings make me so happy. The glorious glow of sunrise? The fresh calm breeze that sways the trees and grasses? The beaming faces of the people I meet? The mood of innocence? The feeling of being productive early in the morning? The hope of having a fantastic day ahead? Or maybe it’s really when all of these elements come together that make it such an irresistible reason to smile. Whatever the reason is, I’m just very grateful to have become a person who is happily magnetted by the lovely charm of mornings. 🙂